ShoutOUT!: Animation and Visual Effects profiles for upcoming National Youth Film Awards (NYFA) on 23 July 2016

National Youth Film Awards (NYFA) 23 July 2016

Aspiring youth filmmakers from local Institutions of Higher Learning (IHLs) will take the spotlight next month, as they compete in this year’s edition of the National Youth Film Awards (NYFA).
Organised by *SCAPE, the annual marquee initiative discovers and celebrates the best emerging talent for technical film crafts in Singapore, and aims to establish and raise a national benchmark for excellence in film. A record number of 260 submissions were received this year, and the films were put through a rigorous shortlisting process by NYFA’s 15-member jury, including award-winning director and screenwriter Lee Thean-jeen, veteran filmmaker and actor Jack Neo, film composer Alex Oh, and Vikram Channa of Discovery Networks Asia-Pacific, among other distinguished industry heavyweights.

Rising talents in Singapore's animation and visual effects industries

In line of the upcoming NYFA event, SINdie thought to give a ShoutOUT to a number of upcoming rising talents in animation and visual effects.

Here we provide two emerging talents Andre Quek and Yang Si Shuo who share more about their passion and motivations, as well as their future plans.

  • Andre Quek
Andre graduated with honours at NTU (ADM) and won Best Animation in NYFA 2015 for the animation film, Princess ( He proceeded to win Gold for 2D Animation and the Best Animation Award at Crowbars, as well as the Special Jury Award at the 48Hour Film Project. He will be one of several NYFA alumni working on Utter 2016

(stills from the film, Princess)

  • Yang Si Shuo 

Si Shuo, from NTU’s Art, Design and Media School, is an alumni of NYFA and one of this year’s nominees. Si Shuo bagged the Best Visual Effects Award during NYFA 2015 with film, Little Maud, and has been nominated this year once again under the same category for another film, Coldsteam. He is currently working for Crave FX.

Team credit for Coldsteam - Yang Si Shuo, Nicholas Chia, Yeo Shiyun and Goh Peng Fong

(production process of Coldsteam)

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form