ShoutOUT!: The 6th Singapore Short Film Awards is back at the Projector

The Singapore Short Film Awards is back here again, celebrating the most edgy independent films made in the last year.  The awards showcases the depth and breadth of the local short film scene, recognising excellence in homegrown filmmaking talent through categories such as Best Director, Best Fiction Film, and Best Performance. Submissions to the awards will be screened throughout the week, with the nominees screened on Thursday and Friday. From intimate documentaries to quirky animations to moving dramas, there’s something for everyone! The Projector will proudly host this event this year from 2nd to 8th March 2015.

145 short films will be screened over the course of this week. For more details on all 145 films, as well as the screening schedule - please visit
The 6th Singapore Short Film Awards
Presented by The Substation, Moving Images
Monday 2 to Sunday 8 March 2015
Weekdays from 7pm
Weekends from 10am
Venue: The Projector
Admission: Entry by donation
Supported by Infinite Frameworks, Samuel Seow Legal Corporation, and Camera Rental Centre

Here are this year's 27 nominees:

Best Fiction:

Bon Voyage

Last Trip Home

Chamber of Ox

CHAMBER OF OX: EXCAVATION from Mads K. Baekkevold on Vimeo.

Stranger by Night

Best Director:
Alvin Lee for Bon Voyage
Grace Chew Hui Min for Destiny
Han Fengyu for Last Trip Home
Clare Chong for Stranger By Night
Tan Wei Keong for Pifuskin

Best Documentary:

The Longest Distance Relationship
Chinese Housemaker
Family Recipe
Jia (English trans: Home)

Best Animation:
Cap’n Shmelly

Best Performance:
Juliette Yu-Ming / Dancer in Rite of Passage
Lim Poh Huat, Yulia Valerio, Russell Tan, and Ram Rengachari / Stranger By Night
S. Sithira Thevi / Grandma in At Your Doorstep
Zhang Zheng Yang / Son in Last Trip Home
Teo Jun Jie and Lau Xiang Ying / Passenger

Best Script:
Chen Yingxuan / Move Out Notice
Clare Chong / Stranger by Night
Kenny Gee / The Body
Shane Lim and Angelica Ho / November
Tan Seong / The Elephant Cannot Fly

Best Editing:
Mads K Baekkevold / Chamber of Ox
Lau Xiang Ying / The Longest Distance Relationship
Shelley Chan / Glitch
Ng Xi Jie and Julie Zhu / The Swan of Tuonela

Best Sound:
Juliette Yu-Ming and Alexandre Brasil / Rite of Passage
Teo Wei Yong / Cap’n Shmelly
Avery Shen of Home Studio and Jesmen Tan / Bon Voyage
Ben Huff and Veronica Mullins / Nascent
Nick Talbot, Russell Adam Morton, and Mads K. Baekkevold / Chamber of Ox

Best Art Direction:
Michelle Cheong and Wendy Chee / At Your Doorstep
Keith Chong / Anchovies
Jerrold Chong and Ilana Kirschbaum / Nascent
Yi-Jun Ian / Graduation

Best Experimental Film:

Rite of Passage
You’re Dead To Me
The Swan of Tuonela

Best Cinematography:

Lim Beng Huat / Anchovies
Michael Zaw / At Your Doorstep
Jolinna Ang Sok Kun / Farewell Summer
Tang Hui Huan / Destiny
Seongbin Baek / And The Wind Falls


Venue address:
The Projector, 5th Floor
#05-00, Golden Mile Tower
6001 Beach Road, Singapore 199589

For enquiries, please email:

Vincent Quek
Programming Manager, Moving Images
The Substation

For more info:
Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form